保持聯絡


網絡使得人們與全世界範圍內的朋友和家人聯繫更加方便和簡便。通過類似於Skype這樣的免費服務,您可以在無需繳納額外費用的條件下聽到並看到您的朋友和家人。在該板塊,我們將帶領您領略所有的聯絡方式:

Older woman in front of computer電子郵件

郵件,電子郵件的簡稱,是在線交流最傳統的、也是最基本的方式。事實上,人們從20世紀70年代使用郵件以來,郵件在外觀上並無多大變化。當今,相比於其它在線網絡服務,人們在家里和在單位使用較多的仍是郵件,其包含以下好處:

方便—— 如果您身邊有台式電腦、筆記本電腦或移動電話,不管您身在何地都可以輸入您的郵件信息、保存下來以便今後使用並可在任何時間發送郵件,無需擔心信封、郵票和關稅的煩惱。

快捷—— 郵件最顯著的特點就是可在幾秒或幾分鐘之內發送到世界上任何一個地方。

附件—— 可以簡便地在郵件上添加您的電腦上的任何文件,不管這些文件是什麼類型,通常也不論文件的大小。

無障礙性—— 郵件可以簡便地儲存在您的郵件系統中。良好的郵件系統可以方便您簡易的管理、歸檔和尋找郵件,所以您可以隨時閱讀郵件中的任何信息。

成本—— 您除了支付上網費用以為,通常發送和接收郵件是免費的。

選擇郵件供應商

許多公司使用Microsoft Outlook來收發郵件,最為流行的私人郵件服務網站還有: Yahoo! Mail, Google Mail 或 Gmail 和 Windows Hotmail. (點擊任何一個鏈接免費註冊一個帳號)。至於您應該在哪個網站上註冊完全是您的個人選擇。

垃圾郵件和個人隱私

經驗法則告訴我們您應盡量避免通過郵件發送個人隱

私相關信息,因為一般郵件都不加密,其他人也相對容易截取和閱讀您的信息。這一點非常重要,尤其當您工作市,IT部門能簡易地進入並閱讀您的郵件。而且許多網絡服務供應商(ISP)在您發送郵件之前,他們已在郵件服務器上儲存了您郵件信息的副本,即使您在郵箱中已經刪除了這些郵件,該備案能在他們的服務器上保存幾個月。點擊“確保網絡安全”部分及更多相關信息,了解如何保護自己免受垃圾郵件和惡意軟件的干擾。

即時短訊(IM)

Woman in front of computer即時短訊是郵件之外的更快捷的一項選擇,通過網絡連接從您的電腦或手機上即時發送短訊,好比不用電話而是通過文字進行溝通。

四個最為流行的即時短訊有: AOL Instant Messenger 即時短訊, ICQ (現在由AOL擁有), MSN MessengerYahoo! Messenger. 首先,您需要創建一個用戶名,同時也是您的網名,另外設置一個密碼來登錄服務器。其次,創建一個好友名單,即您想要溝通的人。當名單上的人在線時,您就可以邀請他們聊天。

如何知道誰在線呢?啟動軟件之後,您的好友名單上將顯示您的聯繫人是否已登錄。您的好友名單也將會實時更新。同時,您的聯繫人名單更新顯示您的狀態。點擊姓名,您就可以向他發送消息(或他們發消息給您)。輸好消息之後,點擊發送鍵,消息就會發送到IM服務器,然後立即轉發到您的好友電腦上。這一切幾乎即時發生——這就是即時短訊名稱的由來。

IM已在當今廣泛流行。事實上,每天都有過十億條消息在網上穿梭。許多商務人員使用IM作為聯絡方式與其身在各處的客戶和員工保持聯繫。這種方式比郵件更加即時,又比打電話便宜。

當今有許多服務器集合了所有IM的功能,從而您可以與分散在許多服務器上的朋友和家人溝通。 Meebo 允許您登錄到各種IM服務器和社交網絡,例如:您瀏覽器上的MySpace或Facebook。  Digsby ,和Meebo相似,但不是通過您的瀏覽器觀看,而是下載到您的電腦上。

VoIP 或網絡電話

網絡電話本質上和傳統電話相同,隻是前者是通過IP網絡,如互聯網傳播聲音。通過使用互聯網打電話,您不但可以節省長途或本地話費,而且互聯網還增加了視頻功能。

Skype 是在家庭用戶中較為流行的服務之一,您可以通過網絡免費打電話給世界各地的朋友和家人。您所需要做的只是將您的電腦連接到寬頻和網絡攝像頭。如果您沒有網絡攝像頭,您仍然可以與其它電腦、手機和座機進行聲音呼叫。您也可以發送即時短訊,並與其他Skype使用者共享文件。

除此之外,隻要您使用寬頻上網,諸如Vonage這樣的公司就可以將您目前的電話轉成網絡電話。  Vonage 將聲音轉換成數據,通過互聯網進行發送,然後在另一端轉換成聲音。和您通話的人將絲毫察覺不到區別,因為網絡呼叫和平常的電話沒什麼兩樣。

VoIP 911緊急呼叫

因為VoIP服務傳統電話服務不同,當使用VoIP服務時,您應該知道VoIP 911可能和傳統的911服務也有所不同。如果您已經或是正在訂購一項VoIP服務,您應該:

  • 向您的VoIP提供商提供您準確的地址以確保緊急服務能迅速派遣到您的住址。
  • 熟悉您的VoIP提供商關於地址變更的相關程序,如發生變更事宜,請即時更新地址信息。
  • 對911服務的任何限制有清晰的認識。
  • 如果您有VoIP服務和其911限制的信息,請告知您的孩子、保姆和客人。
  • 如果斷電、或者您的互聯網連接失敗,則VoIP服務則可能無法運行。建議安裝一個備用電池、或保留傳統的電話線,或準備一個無線電話以備用。
  • 如果您對您電話服務是否屬於相互連接的VoIP服務表示疑問,請聯繫您的服務提供商以進一步確認。

Stay in Touch

The Web has made it easy and inexpensive to stay in touch with friends and family members throughout the world. With free services like Skype, you can see and hear your friends and family members for no extra charge. In this section we’ll take you through all the ways to stay in touch online.

Older woman in front of computerEmail

Email, short for electronic mail, is the oldest and most basic method for communicating online, and it hasn’t changed much in look since it was first introduced in the 1970s. Today, email is used more than any other online service both at home and in the workforce. The benefits of email include:

Convenience - If a desktop computer, laptop or mobile phone is around, you can type your email message wherever you want, save it for later and send it at any time without having to worry about envelopes, and stamps.

Speed - Emails typically arrive within seconds or minutes of sending to anywhere in the world.

Attachments - You can attach any file on your computer to an email message easily, regardless of its type and, mostly, size.

Accessibility - Emails can be stored conveniently in your email program. Good programs make it easy to organize, archive, and search your emails, so any information contained in an email is always readily accessible.

Cost - With the exception of your internet bill, sending and receiving emails is free.

Choosing an email provider

The most popular email services for personal use are: Yahoo! Mail, Google Mail or Gmail and Windows Hotmail.

Spam and Privacy

As a general rule of thumb, limit the amount of private information you send over email as messages are generally not encrypted and it is relatively easy for others to intercept and read messages. Also many Internet Service Providers (ISP) store copies of your email messages on their mail servers before they are delivered. The backups of these messages can remain for several months on their server, even if you delete them in your mailbox. Read Stay Safe section for more information about how to protect yourself from scams and malware over email.

Instant Messaging (IM)

Woman in front of computerInstant Messaging, a faster alternative to email, consists of sending short text from your computer or your mobile phone with an Internet connection. Think of having a conversation over the phone but via text instead.

The four most popular IM services are AOL Instant Messenger, ICQ (now owned by AOL), MSN Messenger and Yahoo! Messenger. They all work similarly. First, you enroll in the service by creating a user name, which is also your screen name, and a password. Next, you build what is known as a buddy list--people that you want to communicate with. When any of the contacts on your list is online, you can initiate a private chat with that person.

How do you know who is online? After launching the IM software, your buddy list will show you if any of your contacts are also online. At the same time, your contacts' lists update to indicate that you're online. By clicking on a name you can send text messages to that person, or they can send them to you. After you type your note and click on the Send button, the message travels to the IM server, then immediately forwards to your buddy's computer. This all happens almost instantly--that's how this popular form of communication got its name.

IM has exploded in popularity. Over one billion IM messages traverse the Net each day. Many businesses use IM to keep in touch with clients and staff in far-flung offices or just down the hall. It's more immediate than email and can be cheaper than a phone call.

Today there are many services that aggregate all your IM services together so that you can communicate with friends and family who are spread out over many services. Meebo allows you to sign into various IM service and social networks such as MySpace or Facebook from your browser. Digsby is just like Meebo but instead of viewing it through your browser you download it to your computer.

VoIP or Internet Calling

Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP) is essentially the same as a phone call but connected over an IP network such as the Internet. By using the Internet to place calls you eliminate any long distance or local fees you would normally incur with a phone line and you have the added advantage of using video.

Skype is one of the more popular services for home users and allows you to make video calls over the Internet to friends and family all over the world for free. All you need is a broadband connection and a webcam. If you don’t have a webcam you can also make voice calls to computers, cell phones and landlines. You can also send instant messages and share files with other Skype users.

Skype

Alternatively, as long as you have a broadband Internet connection, companies such as Vonage can turn your current telephone into a VoIP phone. Vonage converts sound into data, sends it over the Internet, and converts it back into sound at the other end. The people you talk with will never know the difference because a VoIP call sounds just like a regular phone call.

VoIP 911 Emergency Calling

Because VoIP service works differently from traditional phone service, when using it you should be aware that VoIP 911 service may also work differently from traditional 911service. If you have or are thinking of subscribing to a VoIP service, you should:

  • Provide your accurate physical address to your VoIP service provider to ensure that emergency services can quickly be dispatched to your location.
  • Be familiar with your VoIP service provider’s procedures for updating your address, and promptly update address information in the event of a change.
  • Have a clear understanding of any limitations of your 911 service.
  • Inform children, babysitters, and visitors about your VoIP service and its 911 limitations, if any.
  • If your power is out or your Internet connection is down, be aware that your VoIP service may not work. Consider installing a backup power supply, maintaining a traditional phone line, or having a wireless phone as a backup.
  • If you have questions about whether the phone service you are receiving is an interconnected VoIP service, contact your service provider for further information.