掌握最新資訊

網絡是一個無限的資源,具有許多高質網站提供的快捷、準確的信息。您不需要離開電腦就可以知道當天新聞、下載稅單、查詢天氣狀況和尋找當地的公車時刻表。當您一邊在網絡上進行搜索的時候,您也就開始建立自己所信賴的“訪問”名單,以下信息將對您如門有所幫助:

搜索

Girl with paperwork您的在線課程將由搜索引擎開始,例如Google, Yahoo!Ask。在搜索引擎中,您可以輸入您想要尋找的東西然後找到相關網站。以下提供了一些技巧幫您更快的尋找更好的結果:

關鍵詞—— 從一開始,如果您網絡搜索的範圍越小,一般情況下您的網絡搜索就越成功。例如:如果您想要搜索“咖啡”,您會得到很多可使用的結果;但是,如果您將搜索範圍縮小到“阿拉伯炒咖啡”,您的搜索就會成功很多。

短語—— 如果您想要搜索一個短語,則加上雙引號。否則,您將會看到許多混亂的結果。有個例子: 輸入“long haired cats”,搜索結果將顯示與三個單詞最近似、並且是您所要求的字母排序的結果,而不是網上隨意分佈的結果。

使用要素搭配—— 通過加詞或減詞來擴大或縮小您的搜索。例如:您在搜索Tom Ford,但是您會看到許許多多的Ford Motors。很簡單——這時隻要將幾個網絡搜索要素結合起來,去搜索您的結果,輸入:“Tom Ford”—motors,現在您的結果就不再是那些討厭的車類信息。

找詞—— 有時,您可能對自己所找到的一個網頁感到莫名其妙;特別是一些又長、用詞繁冗的文檔。隻要按下Ctrl鍵(在鍵盤的左下方),然後按下F(用來尋找),在正文中輸入您想尋找的詞,然後您想找的詞或短語將會加亮顯示。

新聞和天氣

Group of people in front of computer網絡是能尋找全世界報紙上爆炸性新聞的最好的地方,您可能對已經讀過或聽說過的任何新的故事進行深入的背景了解。不論是關於您的運動球隊的地方新聞還是當地商務的消息,您都能使用網絡資源找到。

要在網上找到您最喜歡的報紙或當地新聞電視頻道,隻要在搜索引擎中輸入這份報紙或頻道的名稱。在許多新聞網站上,從紐約時報到當地報紙的大部分新聞內容都是免費的。

如果您想蒐集全世界最新的新聞, Google News 能提供更新最即時的新聞,該網頁蒐集了全世界成千上萬份出版物上的新聞。類似的網站還有 Yahoo! NewsAOL News

政府服務

確切的講,當今有幾十萬個美國政府和政府相關的網站。這些網站能一如既往的幫助您迅速、簡便、有效地找到您所需要的信息。

The Government of the State of California (加州政府)——這是該州提供許多服務的大門,其中包括消費者信息、健康通告、交通和運輸更新信息、電子/投票信息、稅務信息以及樂透中獎號碼。

Social Security (社會保障)——需要申請社會安全福利嗎?取代您的醫療卡嗎?如何計劃您的退休、獲得殘疾資格或是如何獲得更改姓名幫助?您就可以登錄社會安全在線來完成這些事宜。

California Department of Education (加州教育部)——多語言文檔、測試和學校區域信息,在這裡還可以查看日歷和目錄。此外,您還能閱讀該州教育部貼出的最新消息。

California DMV (加州DMV)——一個非常有用的網站,可以幫您找到該州的駕駛法律、解釋取得駕照並為您的汽車登記註冊的流程。您也可以在線約定自己DMV訪問的日程。

Immigration Services (移民服務)——要想下載入籍指南,準備入籍考試或是尋找當地將英語作為自己的第二語種的課程,請訪問Welcome to the USA. 。如果您想瀏覽入籍時間表或是查看在加州的一個案例狀態,登陸 United States Center for Immigration Services, California Service Center查看。

健康

網絡是提供有關健康方面資訊的一個非常有用的資源,從研究病情、藥物到了解您能享有的衛生保健福利。以下是一些網站,有助於您了解您健康方面的信息:

WebMD:已經成為人們尋找可靠的健康信息的最為流行的網站。他們還提供了有關支援社區、適合您自身且有深入的健康題材的參考資料和最新的公共健康信息以及更多的相關內容。

The California Department of Public Health 致力於優化加州人民的健康和福利狀況。在該網站上,您可以知道各種各樣有關您和您家庭的計劃和服務,從加州飲用水計劃到婦女、嬰兒和兒童(WIC)計劃,此計劃資助家庭購買補充食品、提供營養教育,並且幫助他們尋找衛生保健和其他社區服務。

想要獲得諸如您所在地區的免費的、便宜的健康服務的資訊,請訪問您所在城市的公共健康網站。如想登陸洛杉磯公共健康網址,請點擊此處

The Mayo Clinic 是一個非盈利醫療機構,致力於診斷和治療各種復雜病症。他們有三個主要網站及3400多名醫師和科學家為您提供健康服務。

  • Mayoclinic.com 提供有用的和最新的醫療信息,幫您了解超過35種疾病以及生活方式有關疾病的資訊。
  • 了解Mayoclinic.org 的醫療服務、如何預約以及其獨特的醫療模式,請登陸Mayoclinic.org。
  • Mayo.edu 欲探索世界範圍內的醫療研究和教育成果,從實驗室、臨床試驗到不斷培養醫療專家的學校,請登陸Mayo.edu 。

網上銀行

Man in front of computer網上銀行允許您進行金融交易,以及在一個安全的網頁上,通過管理您的銀行、信用卡或金融機構來管理您的賬戶。您可以非常方便的獲取有關您賬戶的所有信息,幫您理財。以下就是您應該知道的一些其他益處:

  • 免費,方便使用
  • 安全
  • 電子付款將確保您不會遺漏支付帳單,避免交納過時附加費
  • 可以簡便的在您的普通賬戶和儲蓄賬戶間轉款,在您的朋友或家人的賬戶之間轉帳。
  • 申請貸款或建立自動還款服務
  • 迅速獲取您的銀行報表,並且能用您的電腦迅速、方便的打印下來。

現在出現了專門的網絡服務幫您更好的理財。Mint.com 就是現在最為流行的網絡金融管理工具之一,而且完全免費。登陸這個網站,您可以在一個地方管理您所有的賬戶,從您的貸款到信用卡,可以看到您在何處消費,並建立非常現實的預算幫您理財。這個網站還推薦儲蓄的方式,使用專利軟件分析您目前的消費。最為典型的一個例子就是,一位 Mint.com使用者在第一次訪問該網站時就發現自己已節省了1000美元。

Stay Informed

The Web is an enormous resource, with many quality sites that can provide quick, easy access to accurate information. Without leaving the computer, you can learn about the day’s news, download tax documents, check the weather and find the local bus schedule. As you spend time exploring the Web, you will begin to develop your own list of trustworthy “go to” sites, but here are a few helpful destinations to get you started:

Search

Girl with paperworkMany of your online sessions will begin at a search engine such as Google, Yahoo! or Ask. A search engine allows you to type what you are looking for and then finds relevant websites. Some tricks to getting better results faster:

Keywords – The more narrowed down you can get your Web searches from the beginning, the more successful your Web search usually will be. For example, if you were searching for "coffee", you'd get way more results back than you could use; however, if you narrowed that down to "roasted Colombian coffee", you'd be more successful.

Phrases – If you're looking for an exact phrase, put it in quotes. Otherwise, you'll come back with a huge jumble of results. Here's an example: "long haired cats." Your search will come back with these three words in proximity to each other and in the order you intended them to be, rather than scattered willy-nilly on the site.

Use Basic Math – Broaden or narrow your search efforts by using the addition and subtraction symbols. For example, you are searching for Tom Ford, but you get lots of results for Ford Motors. Easy - just combine a couple of the symbols and words to get your results: "tom ford" -motors. Now your results will come back without all those pesky car results.

Find the Word – Sometimes your search results page may not make sense; especially if it's a long, wordy document. Just hit Ctrl (at the bottom left of your keyboard), then F (for Find), and then type in the text you are looking for. Then your word or phrase will be highlighted.

News and Weather

Group of people in front of computerThe Web is the best place to find breaking news from newspapers all over the world, and in-depth background on any news story you might read or hear about. Whether it's local news about your sports team or information on local businesses, you'll be able to find it using these resources.

To find the online version of your favorite newspaper or local news TV channel, just type the paper or channel’s name into a search engine. Most news sites from the New York Times to local papers offer most of their stories for free.

If you want a collection of the latest news from all over the globe, Google News offers a constantly-updated news feed that pulls stories from thousands of publications from around the world. Yahoo! News and AOL News are similar sites.

Government Services

There are literally hundreds of thousands of US government and government-related Web sites online today. These sites consistently help you to find what you need quickly, easily, and efficiently.

The Government of the State of California – This is the doorway for dozens of state services, which include consumer information, health notices, traffic and transportation updates, election/voter information, tax information and even the winning lottery numbers.

Social Security – Need to apply for social security benefits? Replace your Medicare card? How about plan your retirement, qualify for disability, or get help with name changes? You can do all these things and more at Social Security Online.

California Department of Education – Multi-lingual documents, testing and school district information, calendars and directories are all available here. You can also read the latest updates from the state Board of Education.

California DMV – A very organized site that will help you find the state driving laws, explain the process for getting a license and registering a vehicle. You can also schedule an appointment for your DMV visit.

Immigration Services – To download a guide to naturalization, prepare for the naturalization test or find a local English as Second Language class, visit Welcome to the USA. If you want to view a timeline for naturalization or check on the status of a case in California, check out the United States Center for Immigration Services, California Service Center.

Health

The Internet can be a very useful resource for health related information, from researching illnesses and medicine to learning what healthcare benefits you’re eligible for. Below are a list of sites to help you stay informed on your health.

WebMD: WebMD has become one of the most popular sites online for finding credible health related information. They also provide access to supportive communities, in-depth reference material about health subjects that pertain to you, up-to-the-minute public health information and much more.

The California Department of Public Health is dedicated to optimizing the health and well-being of the people in California. Here you can learn about the various programs and services affecting you and your family from the California Drinking Water Program to the Women, Infants and Children (WIC) program that helps families by providing checks for buying healthy supplemental foods, nutrition education, and help finding healthcare and other community services.

To find more localized information such as the free and low cost health services in your area you can also visit your cities’ department of Public Health site. For the Los Angeles Department of Public Health click here.

The Mayo Clinic is a not-for-profit medical practice dedicated to the diagnosis and treatment of virtually every type of complex illness. They have three main websites that provide information and services from over 3,400 physicians and scientists to help you manage your health.

  • Mayoclinic.com for managing your health with useful and up-to-date information in more than 35 disease and lifestyle categories.
  • Mayoclinic.org to learn about medical services at Mayo Clinic, how to make an appointment and the unique Mayo Clinic Model of Care.
  • Mayo.edu to explore the world of medical research and education at Mayo Clinic, from laboratory and clinical trials to their schools for aspiring and current medical professionals.

Online Banking

Man in front of computerOnline banking allows you to conduct financial transactions and manage your accounts via a secure website operated by your bank, credit card or financial institution. It provides you with convenient access to all of your account information to help you manage your finances. Below are just some of the other benefits you should be aware of:

  • Free and easy to set up
  • Secure
  • Electronic bill pay will ensure you never miss another payment and incur a late fee again
  • Easily transfer funds between your checking and saving accounts or to a friend or family member's account
  • Apply for a loan or set up automatic payments for your loan
  • Access your bank statements quickly and easily and even print them from your computer

There are now independent Web services popping up to help you better manage your finances. Mint.com is one of the most popular online financial management tools right now and is completely free. With Mint.com you can manage all of your accounts in one place from loans to credit cards, and see where you’re spending your money and set up realistic budgets to manage your finances.Mint.com also recommends ways to save money by analyzing your current spending. The typical Mint.com user finds $1,000 in savings in their first visit.