互聯網曆史

sputnik

1957: 美國成立先進研究計劃署(ARPA)

蘇聯發射了第一枚人造地球衛星斯布尼克。次年美國在國防部(DoD)內成立了先進研究計劃署(ARPA)以樹立美國在軍事科學及技術上的領導地位。

no image

1960 年代: 創立ARPANET,即今日互聯網的初型

ARPA要創立一個在發生諸如核子戰等災難時仍能繼續起作用的計算機網絡,以便在部分損壞或摧毀的情况下其餘的系統仍然能夠運作。這個被稱為ARPANET (先進研究計劃署網絡)的網絡連接著美國的科學和學術研究人員,便是是今日互聯網的初型。隨後美國每一所獲有國防部相關資助的大學皆裝設了ARPA網計算機,互聯網逐漸由一個軍事管道而成為科學家的通信工具。

arapanet usa network

1970: ARPANET首次建立橫越美國的網絡連接

AT&T 為洛杉磯加州大學 (UCLA)和Bolt Beranek and Newman 公司 (BBN) 之間安裝了首次橫越全國的網絡連接。

the at sign

1972: BBN 的瑞湯林遜創造了電子郵件。所選用的符號 " @" 是表示「在(某地)」的意思

no image

1973: ARPANET首次建立國際間的網絡連接

1973年ARPA網首次與美國國外位於挪威的NORSAR建立了網絡連接,緊接著又與倫敦大學學院(英國)連接。 ARPA網當時擁有2000名用戶,其中75% 將其用作電子郵件。

Vinton Cerf

1974: 互聯網誕生

「互聯網」一詞係由斯坦福大學的文頓瑟弗,猶甘達那和卡爾山協所創,用以描述一個全球性傳輸控制協議或互聯網協議(TCP/IP),即信息在互聯網上來回傳輸所須遵行的規則。

1976: 史蒂夫 賈伯斯和史蒂夫渥玆尼亞克建立蘋果電腦

在蘋果公司創立之前電腦是以套件銷售而須另行組裝而成。1977年蘋果電腦公司推出蘋果II,是世上第一款大量銷售且己裝配好的個人電腦。該電腦著重於更多軟件的應用和而較少處理器硬件的發展,以便為各界人士使用。

Compuserve logo

1979: CompuServe 成為第一家為個人電腦用戶提供電子郵件功能和技術支援的在線信息
服務公司。

在1990年代初期, AOL撥號服務加入競爭, 由於其積極的銷售策略, 新的社交特點例如聊天室及網上遊戲, 和其以月而非以小時計費的模式, 使得用戶更能負擔得起網絡之使用而形成主流。一時之間有幾百萬用戶參加。 其間AOL與 CompuServe 互相爭奪用戶, 直到1998年AOL併購了CompuServe 為止。

1981: IBM發佈其首部個人電腦 (PC)

IBM的個人電腦是由名為「象棋項目」的團隊所開發,並於1981年8月12日推出。雖然价格不菲,許多企業所皆能付擔其US$1,565的基價,並紛紛購買。

the world wide web

1989: ARPA網結束。 亭姆 勃勒斯-李爵士創造萬維網,即今日我們所稱的現代互聯網

萬維網亦簡稱「網」,雖然常與互聯網相混淆,實際上是一個建立在互聯網上用以連接超文本頁面或網頁的應用程序。用戶使用瀏覽器即能瀏覽網頁上的文字、圖像、視頻和其他多媒體,並可使用超鏈接在網頁之間暢通無阻。萬維網通過一種易用靈活的方式使信息傳播於互聯網,因此對互聯網的普及起了重要的作用。

Mosaic logo

1993: 第一個瀏覽器Mosaic誕生

Mosaic瀏覽器的的出現使得萬維網更為流行。這是由國家超級計算應用中心(NCSA)所研發的首次具有多媒體圖像用戶介面的新型瀏覽器,它能把文字指令轉換成為圖像,使得用戶更加容易地在網上暢游。Mosaic後來改名為Netscape Navigator,且公司於1994年11月14日將其命名為Netscape。

Internet Explorer logo

1996:Netscape與微軟展開瀏覽器爭奪戰

當時Netscape Navigator曾佔市場主導是最風行的網絡瀏覽器,而微軟才剛推出Internet Explorer的最初版本作為微軟視窗95增進版的一部分,此後三年兩公司皆爭相推出新產品而互相爭奪更多用戶。1998年底Netscape被打敗,然後公司由美國在線併購。在2002年期間, Internet Explorer成為新的主導瀏覽器,獲得最高值達96%的網絡瀏覽器使用量, 比Netscape以往在其巔峰時還高。
network cables

1997: 寬頻互聯網問世

1997年使用線纜調制解調器的高速家庭網絡首先被推出。兩年後DSL (數字用戶線路)問世。 至2001年線纜和DSL用戶數目已迅速超過撥號用戶,因其速度較快可讓用戶運用初具成形的新網絡應用程序。

1998: 搜索霸主谷歌成立  

谷歌最初是拉瑞佩基和舍濟布林在斯坦福大學攻讀博士學位時的研究計劃,他們確信與搜索最相關的網頁是那些與其他高度相關的網頁具有最多鏈接者。佩基和布林在其研究中檢驗了此項理論從而奠定了他們搜索引擎的基礎,使得此搜索引擎成為今日最多人瀏覽的網站和世界上最具影餉力的品牌。

Time magazine cover

2006: 時代雜誌選定「你」作為年度人物以及網絡2.0的興起

在21世紀初期,全世界有60億人在線,網絡變得更觸手可得且易於使用 ,以致興起了諸如維基百科,布洛格,社交網絡,和影片分享網站,比如YouTube,從而成為一般人溝通,分享與合作的平臺。

History of the Internet

sputnik

1957: U.S. forms Advanced Research Project Agency (ARPA)

USSR launched Sputnik, the first artificial Earth satellite. The following year, the US formed the Advanced Research Projects Agency (ARPA) within the Department of Defense (DoD) to establish US leadership in science and technology applicable to the military.

no image

1960s: ARPANET, the forerunner of today’s Internet, is created

ARPA wanted to create a computer network that would continue to function in the event of a disaster, such as a nuclear war, so that if part of the network was damaged or destroyed the rest of the system would work. That network was named ARPANET, (Advanced Research Projects Agency Network), which linked US scientific and academic researchers. It was the forerunner of today's Internet. In time, ARPANET computers were installed at every university in the US that had defense related funding. Gradually, the Internet had gone from a military pipeline to a communications tool for scientists.

arapanet usa network

1970: ARPANET makes its first cross country connection

The first cross-country link installed by AT&T was between University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) and Bolt Beranek and Newman, Inc. (BBN).

the at sign

1972: E-mail is created by Ray Tomlinson at BBN. "@" symbol chosen to mean “at”

no image

1973: ARPANET makes its first international connection

The first ARPANET connection outside the US was established to NORSAR in Norway in 1973, just before the connection to University College of London (England). ARPANET had 2000 users at this point, 75% which used it for email.

Vinton Cerf

1974: The Internet is born

The term “Internet” was coined by Vinton Cerf, Yogen Dalal and Carl Sunshine at Stanford University to describe a global transmission control protocol/internet protocol (TCP/IP) network, or the rules that allow for information to be sent back and forth over the Internet.

1976: Apple Computer is founded by Steve Jobs and Steve Wozniak

Prior to Apple, computers were sold in kits that required assembling. In 1977 Apple Computers introduced the Apple II, the world’s first personal computer, which was mass-marketed and pre-assembled allowing a wider range of people to use computers, focusing more on software applications and less on the development of the computer.

Compuserve logo

1979: CompuServe became the first online service provider to offer e-mail capabilities and technical support to personal computer users.

Compuserve was eventually purchased in 1998 by AOL, who arrived on the scene in the early 90’s. AOL came out with an aggressive marketing strategy, new social features such as chat rooms and online games, and an updated monthly vs. hourly pricing model which made the web much more affordable. Millions of new users signed up almost overnight making the web more mainstream.

1981: IBM announces its first Personal Computer (PC)

A team known as "Project Chess" built the IBM PC, which launched on August 12, 1981. Although not cheap, at a base price of US$1,565 it was affordable for businesses — and many businesses purchased PCs.

the world wide web

1989: ARPANET ends. Sir Tim Berners-Lee creates the World Wide Web, what we know as today’s modern Internet

The World Wide Web, or "the Web," although commonly confused with the Internet, is actually an application built on top of the Internet that connects hypertext pages or web pages. With a Web browser, one can view Web pages that may contain text, images, videos, and other multimedia and navigate between them using hyperlinks. The World Wide Web enabled the spread of information over the Internet through an easy-to-use and flexible format. It thus played an important role in popularizing use of the Internet.

Mosaic logo

1993: Mosaic, the first web browser, is created

Mosaic is the web browser credited with popularizing the World Wide Web. It was developed at the National Center for Supercomputing Applications (NCSA) and was one of the first to provide a multimedia graphical user interface that allowed users to more easily navigate the web by converting text commands to images. Mosaic was subsequently renamed Netscape Navigator, and the company took the 'Netscape' name on November 14, 1994.

Internet Explorer logo

1996: Start of browser wars with Netscape and Microsoft leading the charge

Netscape Navigator was the dominant and most widely used web browser at that time, while Microsoft had just released the first version of Internet Explorer as part of the Microsoft Windows 95 Plus! Pack. Over the next three years the two would introduce new features and battle it out for the most users.

Netscape was defeated by the end of 1998, after which the company was acquired by America Online. Internet Explorer became the new dominant browser, attaining a peak of about 96% of the web browser usage share during 2002, more than Netscape had at its peak.

network cables

1997: Broadband Internet is introduced

High-speed home networking was first introduced in 1997 with a cable modem. DSL (Digital Subscriber Line) was introduced two years later. By 2001 cable and DSL subscriptions had quickly surpassed that of dial-up, as the faster speeds allowed users to utilize the newest web applications that were beginning to take shape.

1998: Search giant Google is founded

Google began as a research project of Larry Page and Sergey Brin while studying for their Ph.Ds at Stanford University. Convinced that the most relevant page associated with a search were the ones with the most links to them from other highly relevant web pages, Page and Brin tested their thesis as part of their studies and laid the foundation for their search engine, which today is the most visited site on the web and has become the most powerful brand in the world.

Time magazine cover

2006: Time names “You” person of the year and the rise of Web 2.0

In the early part of the 21st century, with over 6 billion people online worldwide and the web becoming more and more accessible and user-friendly, social development tools like wikis, blogs, social networks and video sharing sites like YouTube arrive to give everyday people a platform to communicate, share and collaborate.