你的電腦夠快嗎?

只有當您的計算機速度夠快時,寬頻連接才會有效運行。如果您的計算機是在2000年或之後新買的,大多數就屬於這類情況。這取決於ISP(互聯網服務提供商),但通常情況下,您需要滿足以下要求,‭ ‬才能在PC或Mac上運行寬頻:

  1. 以下操作系統之一:

    • Windows 2000
    • Windows XP
    • Windows Vista
    • Mac OS 10.3 或更高版本‭ ‬
  2. 128‭ ‬MB內存(PC),或64MB(Mac)‭
  3. 處理速度為300MHz或更高(PC),120MHz或更高(Mac)‭ ‬
  4. 硬盤上擁有100MB可用空間‭ ‬
  5. CD-ROM或DVD
如果您使用PC,可通過兩步操作輕鬆查找此信息:‭ ‬

第1步: 從桌面雙擊“我的電腦”,然後選擇“系統信息”。可在此處看到操作係統、內存和處理速度。‭ ‬


第2步: 再次從桌面雙擊“我的電腦”,右鍵單擊本地磁盤‭(‬C‭:)‬驅動器並選擇“屬性”。可在此處看到可用空間。

如果您在使用Mac:

第1步: 在左上角單擊Apple圖標,然後選擇“關於本MAC”。此窗口中列出了操作系統版本、內存‭(‬RAM‭)‬和處理器速度。‭ ‬

第2步: 要查看有關計算機的其它詳情,請單擊“更多信息”。

互聯網使用者的設備列表

如果您已經擁有符合上述要求的設備並將從網絡服務供應商訂購服務,那麼除此之外您還需要哪些軟件和硬件呢?以下我們提供了一張包含簡單硬件和軟件的列表,幫助您更好地體驗互聯網。

  1. 網絡瀏覽器軟件: 點擊以下連接,我們提供了您可選擇的瀏覽器列表 http://getconnectedtoday.com/zh-hant/getconnected/browser
  2. 防毒軟件: Symantec/NortonMcAffee 是最常用的選擇,它們使您的電腦能夠抵禦惡意程序的對硬盤的侵襲。欲了解更多關於網絡安全的訊息,請點擊thttp://getconnected.urbaninsight.com/staysafe/malware 
  3. 電子郵件軟件: 點擊此處了解選擇免費服務的相關訊息http://getconnected.urbaninsight.com/whatcanido/stayintouch
  4. 插件軟件: 該軟件是提升網絡瀏覽器功能的附加軟件,使您能夠在線觀看電影和動畫、收聽音樂、瀏覽Adobe文檔、玩在線遊戲等。您可能需要的常見軟件有“ Java, Flash Player, Windows Media Player, Real Audio music player, Apple Quick Time.” (我們將提供免費下載這些軟件的連接)
  5. 音響、話筒和網絡攝像頭: 這些附加硬件可使您盡情享受網絡互動的樂趣,比如向家人朋友撥打網絡電話(查看連接:http://getconnected.urbaninsight.com/whatcanido/stayintouch)。有些電腦裝配了內置攝像頭和話筒,購買電腦時請詢問是否有這些配製。
  6. 打印機和掃描儀: 對於在家工作的人們來說,這兩個是最受歡迎的硬件設備。當然,它們在個人使用者中也越來越流行,尤其是在校孩子。
  7. 鍵盤和鼠標: 如果您在使用筆記本電腦上處理工作文檔,或只是不喜歡您電腦原配的鼠標和鍵盤,您有以下幾個選擇,包括無線鼠標以及根據人體工程學設計且適合您手曲線的鼠標。
  8. 輔助性科技: 身體有殘疾的人們需要在使用電腦和網絡時需要額外的幫助。請訪問我們的“網絡無障礙性”部分了解更多資訊。

Is your computer up to speed?

A broadband connection is only effective if your computer is up to speed. If your computer was purchased new in 2000 or later most likely it is. It may depend on your Internet Service Provider but generally you will need to meet the following requirements to run broadband from your PC or Mac:

  1. One of the following operating systems:
    • Windows ("Vista" or "8" are best but "XP" or "2000" will work)
    • Mac OS 10.3 or higher
  2. A processing speed of 300MHz or above for PC and 120MHz or above for Mac
  3. 256MB of free space on your hard drive
  4. 512MB or more RAM
If you're using a PC you can find this information in two easy steps:

Step 1: Double click on "My Computer" from your desktop and choose "System Information". Here you should see your operating system, RAM and processing speed.

Step 2: Double click on "My Computer" again from your desktop and right click on the local disk (C:) drive and choose 'properties'. Here you should see what free space you have.

If you're using a Mac:

Step 1: Click the Apple icon in top left hand corner, and then select "About this MAC". Here your operating system version, your memory (RAM), and your processor speed are listed in this window.

Step 2: To review other details about your computer, click "More Info".

Internet User's Equipment Checklist

You have a computer that fits the above requirements and are on your way to getting Internet from an Internet Service Provider, or ISP, but what else do you need to go online? Below is a simple list of basic hardware and software requirements that will make your Internet experience even better.

  1. Internet browser software: We’ve provided a list of choices for you here.
  2. Anti-virus software: Symantec/Norton or McAffee are the two most common. These will help defend you against nasty programs that will erase parts of your hard drive. For more information on protecting yourself visit here.
  3. Email software: Visit here for more information on choosing a free service.
  4. Plug-In software: These are optional software additions that enhance and/or add functionality to a web browser, allowing you to watch online movies and animation, hear sound and music, read special Adobe documents, play online games, and more. The most-common ones you will need and can download for free are: Java, Flash Player, Windows Media Player, Real Audio music player, Apple Quick Time.
  5. Stereo speakers, microphone, and webcam: These optional hardware devices will allow you many possibilities for interacting with the web such as placing a call to friends and family via the Internet (visit here to learn more about this). Some computers have a built in webcam and microphone so ask when you shop for a computer look to see if they have this.
  6. Printer and Scanner: These are popular hardware devices for people who work from their home but are becoming increasingly popular for personal use as well, especially for children in school.
  7. Keyboard and mouse: If you’re working from a laptop or just don’t like the keyboard or mouse that came with your computer there are several options to choose from including wireless or ergonomic ones that fit your hands.
  8. Assistive Technology: People with disabilities may require some assistance to use the computer and Internet.  To learn more see our section on Accessibility here.