寬頻 vs. 撥號

撥號連接

撥號連接使用戶可通過電話線(用標準56k調制解調器)連接至互聯網。實際上,計算機對ISP(互聯網服務提供商)提供的電話號碼進行撥號,依次連接至服務器的調制解調器和互聯網。在正常情況下,撥號具有56 Kb/秒的數據傳輸率。

寬頻(或高速互聯網)連接

隨著寬頻連接在全球網絡市場的普及,撥號上網的那種獨特的聲音已成為過去。實際上,現在幾乎三分之二的互聯網用戶在使用高速連接。當您考慮以下諸多好處時,就不會覺得奇怪了:

省時: 寬頻連接速度比撥號連接快10到20倍,使大量數據的傳輸速度更快。例如,用寬頻下載一首歌隻需幾秒鐘,而用撥號方式可能需要十分鐘;用電子郵件發送數碼照片瞬間便可完成。

省錢: 如果您擁有專用於互聯網連接的第二條電話線,那您可以把它取消了。同時,寬頻用戶通常支付包月費用,而不用按小時計費。長遠來看,寬頻實際上付的費用比撥號要少。

方便: 有了寬頻,您可以全天候(每週7天,每天24小時)即時上網。因此,當您想上線時,不用每次進行連接—您隨時在線。當您需要時,就很容易獲取信息,收取電子郵件,甚至在網上打電話。同時,多台計算機可共享一個寬頻連接,在全家人都想同時上線時,寬頻的這一優點憂其明顯。

全新服務: 一旦您擁有高速網絡連接,展現在你眼前的將是一個充滿各種新奇的全新世界,例如,視頻會議和照片共享。您還可以在線收聽廣播,看流媒體,以及下載音樂、短片和電影。

立即測試上網速度

請在此處測試您的互聯網連接速度: www.internetfrog.com/mypc/speedtest/ 在圖表的左上角查看服務質量百分比。在理想狀況下,您應希望得到90%或更高的分數。

同時請您注意查看圖表上接速度下降處。如果您的結果顯示為紅色,則表示您撥號連接的速度較慢,因而您在快速查找網頁及瀏覽帶有大量flash、音樂視頻等內容的網站時,會遇到困難。理想情況下,您的連接應為512kb或更快。

Broadband vs. Dial-up

Dial-up

A dial-up connection allows users to connect to the internet via their telephone line using a standard 56k modem. The computer literally dials a telephone number provided by the Internet Service Provider and connects to the server's modem and therefore the Internet. Dial-up has a transfer rate of 56 Kilobits of data per second under ideal conditions.

Broadband (or High-Speed Internet)

The distinctive chatter of a dial-up is rapidly becoming a sound of the past as broadband sweeps the global network. In fact, only 3 percent Internet users still use dial up. It's no mystery why when you consider the enormous benefits:

Save Time: Broadband operates from 10 to 20 times faster than a dial-up connection, enabling the speedy transfer of large amounts of data. For instance, downloading a song takes a few seconds versus perhaps 10 minutes with dial-up; e-mailing digital photos is almost instantaneous.

Save Money: If you now dedicate a second phone line for Internet access, you can cancel it. Also, broadband subscribers usually pay a flat monthly fee, avoiding hourly usage charges. In the long run, it may actually cost you less for broadband than for a dial-up account.

Convenience: With broadband you have instant Internet access, 24/7, so you don't have to connect each time you want to go online--you're always connected. This makes it easy to access information when you need it, check your e-mail, and even make phone calls over the Internet. Also, multiple computers can share a broadband connection, a great feature if members of your family want to be online at the same time.

New Services: Once you have high-speed Internet access, a new world of possibilities opens to you, such as videoconferencing and photo sharing. You can also listen to online radio and watch streaming video, as well as download music, film clips and movies.

Test your Internet speed now

Test the speed of your Internet connection here: www.internetfrog.com/mypc/speedtest/ Look at the Quality of Service percentage in the top left hand corner of the graph. You should want a score of 90% or higher.

Also look at where your connection falls on the graph, if your results are in the red you are running on a slow dial-up connection and will have trouble navigating the web quickly, viewing websites that have a lot of flash and accessing content such as music and video. Ideally you should want be at 512kb or above.