可用性

殘疾人因身體有缺陷,影響了他們使用網絡。網絡在生活中的許多方面正在成為越來越重要的資源,因此,為了所有人都能夠獲得平等的網絡訪問機會,讓殘疾人也能使用網絡變得至關重要。

什麼是無障礙性?

woman in wheelchair網頁無障礙性針對影響網絡訪問的所有身體缺陷,包括視覺、聽覺、行動能力、語言、認知和神經系統的缺陷。目前,有些政府部門、機構和非營利組織正在致力於設定關於網站和軟件的無障礙性標準。

下面是幾個有用的網站,專門提供網絡無障礙性的工具、服務和信息:

TechMatrix 是由美國國家技術創新中心 National Center for Technology Innovation (NCTI) 和技術應用培訓中心 Center for Implementing Technology in Education (CITEd) 開發的網站。此網站為有特殊需求的學生提供輔助學習的技術產品,同時也可幫助用戶了解常見問題及如何作出明智的技術決定。


Able Data 向美國個人消費者、機構組織、專家和護理人員提供了超過35,000種輔助產品了客觀的信息。在此網站上,您不但能夠獲得關於輔助產品的信息,也可以了解製造和銷售這些產品的公司情況。

California Assistive Technology Exchange (CATE) 透過提供輔助技術 (AT) 設備和推出創新的貸款方案,希望幫助生活在加州的殘疾人提高生活質量。

操作系統的無障礙性

計算機的操作系統具有內置的無障礙性選項。這些選項可針對視覺、聽覺和行動能力進行調整。我們在下面說明瞭如何訪問和更改計算機上的這些選項,以及到哪裡了解更多信息和獲取相關教程。

Microsoft XP

要在PC上訪問這些選項,請點擊“開始”菜單並選擇“控制面板”。在“控制面板”中可以看到“無障礙性”選項。本節將逐步指導您如何實現計算機的最佳設置以滿足您的需求。

Windows XP control panel

這裡還提供兩個其它有用的功能,即避免打字操作的“屏幕鍵盤”和增大可視範圍的“放大鏡”。

 

在“外觀和主題”中,可以調整整體字體大小和顏色、桌面圖標的大小以及屏幕解析率和對比度。

Microsoft Vista

若要在安裝了 Microsoft Vista 的個人電腦上使用這些功能,請按開始菜單並選擇控制面板。在這裏會看到快捷存取 (Ease of Access) 選項。這一部分將引導瞭解如何按需要正確設置的電腦,包括在上述 Microsoft XP 部分中提及的幕按鍵和放大器選項。Microsoft Vista accessibility features screen

Microsoft還針對特定缺陷提供了資源指南。下面是到這些指南的鏈接,可供您參考。

視覺困難和障礙
精細動作困難和障礙
聽力困難和障礙
學習困難和障礙
語言和溝通困難及障礙
老年計算機用戶

請訪問 Microsoft 網站以了解更多信息以及從相關聯繫人那裡獲得幫助。

Mac OS X

Apple公司的Mac計算機也提供了許多針對視覺、聽覺、行動能力、運動能力以及閱讀和學習能力障礙的內置功能。要訪問這些功能,請從dock中選擇“系統預置”,再選擇“通用訪問”。然後選擇最適合您的需要的選項卡:“視覺”、“聽覺”、“鍵盤”、“鼠標”和“觸控板”。

要獲得Apple資源的完整列表,請訪問此處的Apple網站。

自適應硬件

自適應硬件可使用適配硬件設備來使身體有缺陷的人更輕鬆地使用計算機和瀏覽網絡。下面是可供用戶購買的此類設備的列表。

用於視覺障礙的自適應硬件:

  • 盲文設備:如盲文打印機、點字打印機、閱讀機、便攜顯示器和記錄設備。
  • 閉路電視(CCTV):可用於進行打印材料和其它材料的視頻放大。用戶可將書籍、圖片或文本放在鏡頭下,放大的圖像就會顯示在屏幕上。
  • 耳機可以使用戶單獨收聽音頻文本。附帶的麥克風可實現語音識別軟件的免提操作。
  • 超大顯示器:20英寸超大顯示器為顯示放大的文本和圖形提供了更多空間。
  • Magnabrite放大鏡:固態丙烯酸4倍聚光放大鏡可以增強穿透其的光線,使被放大的元素更加清晰,亮度幾乎增加4倍。
  • 光學文字識別(OCR)掃描儀軟件:將打印材料轉換為可由計算機讀取的電子文本。
  • 觸覺圖像增強器:在特製的紙張上生成凸起的圖像,使具有視覺障礙的人們可以觸摸到圖像的輪廓。

用於移動障礙的自適應硬件:

  • 高度可調桌椅:適合於背部勞損或受傷的用戶。
  • 特殊鼠標、鍵盤和定點設備:更符合人體工程學的設備。使用戶可更輕鬆地使用計算機,提高使用舒適度。
  • 平板電腦:可以捕獲手寫輸入。用戶可以用無墨水的電子筆直接在屏幕上書寫。平板電腦會將用戶的手寫輸入轉換為鍵盤輸入樣式的文本。

Web Accessibility

Millions of people have disabilities that affect how they use the web, and with the web becoming an increasingly important resource for many aspects of life, it is essential that it be accessible to those with disabilities in order to provide equal access and equal opportunity to all.

What is Accessibility?

woman in wheelchairWeb accessibility encompasses all disabilities that affect access to the Web, including visual, auditory, physical, speech, cognitive, and neurological disabilities. There are several governments, organizations and non-profits currently working to set in place standards on accessibility for sites and software.

Below are some useful sites dedicated to providing web accessibility tools, services and information:

TechMatrix is a product of the National Center for Technology Innovation (NCTI) and Center for Implementing Technology in Education (CITEd) and offers assistive and learning technology products for students with special needs as well as learn what questions to ask and how to make informed tech decisions.

Able Data provides objective information on more than 35,000 assistive products available to consumers, organizations, professionals, and caregivers within the United States. On their site you can research information on assistive products, as well as information about the companies that make and sell them.

The Center for Accessible Technology provides access to computers for people with disabilities so children with disabilities can succeed in school, adults with disabilities can find and keep jobs, and all people with disabilities can benefit from the digital revolution.  The Accessible Technology Coalition, a project of the Center for Accessible Technology, launched a website to help people with disabilities, and those who work with them, make informed decisions about assistive technology.  The Coalition is training 500 service providers and disability issues specialists to use their website.

Accessibility features on your Operating System

Computers have accessibility options built into the operating system that you can adjust for vision, hearing, and mobility. Below we’ve demonstrated how to access and change these on your computer and where to go to get more information and tutorials.

Microsoft XP

To access these on a PC, go to the start menu and select control panel. Here you will see an option for Accessibility. This section will walk you through how to optimally set up your computer for your needs.

Windows XP control panel

Two other useful features offered here are an On-Screen Keyboard to eliminate typing and a Magnifier to enlarge your viewing area.

 

Under Appearance and Themes you can adjust the overall font size and color, the size of your desktop icons, screen resolution and contrast.

Microsoft Vista

To access these features on a PC running Microsoft Vista, go to the start menu and select control panel.  Here you will see an option for Ease of Access. This section will walk you through how to optimally set up your computer for your needs including the on-screen keyboard and magnifier options mentioned above in the Microsoft XP section.

Microsoft Vista accessibility features screen

Microsoft also offers resource guides for specific disabilities. Below are links to each of these for your reference:

Vision difficulties and impairments
Dexterity Difficulties and Impairments
Hearing Difficulties and Impairments
Learning Difficulties and Impairments
Language and Communication Difficulties and Impairments
Aging Computer Users

Please also visit the Microsoft website where you can learn more and find contacts to help.

Mac OS X

Apple’s Mac computers have many built in features for vision, hearing, physical and motor skills as well as literacy and learning. To access these features choose System Preferences from your dock and Universal Access. Here you can choose the tab that best suits your needs: Seeing, Hearing, Keyboard, Mouse and Trackpad.

Universl Access screen for Mac

For a complete list of Apple’s resources visit their website here.

Adaptive Hardware

Adaptive hardware devices can additionally be used to make accessing the computer and navigating the web easier for those with disabilities. Below is a list of such devices available for purchase.

Adaptive Hardware for Vision Impairments:

  • Braille Devices such as printers, embossers, readers, portable displays, and note-taking devices.
  • Closed Circuit Televisions (CCTVs)provide video magnification of print and other materials. Users can place a book, image, or text underneath a camera or lens and the magnified image is rendered on a video screen.
  • Headsets allow users to hear audio text privately, while the attached microphone allows for hands-free use of voice recognition software
  • Large Monitors of 20 inch or more provide more room for enlarged text and graphics
  • Magnabrite Magnifier is a solid acrylic 4x light-gathering magnifier. It intensifies the light that passes through it, making the magnified subject clearer and nearly four times brighter.
  • Scanners with optical character recognition (OCR) software convert print materials in to electronic text which can be read by the computer.
  • A Tactile Image Enhancer creates an upraised impression of an image on specially made paper, allowing people with visual difficulties to feel the contours of the image.

Adaptive Hardware for Mobility Impairments:

  • Adjustable Height Tables and Chairs can help with strained or injured backs.
  • Special Mice, Keyboards and Pointing Devices that are more ergonomic can make it easier to navigate the computer and more comfortable on your body.
  • Tablet PCs can capture handwritten notes allowing users to write directly on the screen (with a non-ink digital pen) while the tablet translates the handwriting into keyboard-style text.